Muffin Tin Lasagnas

Lately, I have been a bit enamored with my muffin pan, just a bit. I’ve discovered that anything shaped like a cupcake is a big hit with my twins. They think they’re getting cupcakes for dinner and that’s fine with me. If you’re familiar with Pinterest, you’ll know that muffin tin meals have been widely circulated. This recipe is very flexible so you can adapt to suit all tastes and diets.

ImageThese are the bare basics of ingredients, but feel free to use your own sauce and add ins. I like to use cooked Italian sausage and spinach as well. Pork sausage has more fat, but tends to give you a more flavorful lasagna. I have used turkey and chicken sausages as well with good results.

ImageImage

I used my Demarle muffin pan, so I didn’t need to grease, but if you are using a metal pan, be sure to prep your pan with cooking spray! Place the gyoza (round) or wonton (square) wrappers in your pan. Next comes your sauce.

ImageImage

See look how easy this is! Layer in your ricotta, meat and spinach.

ImageImage

CHEESE! Then repeat, layer another wrapper and all your fillings. I like to use a mix of mozzarella and parmesan on the top. There are enough wrappers in your package to make two batches of lasagna. I like to freeze the second set so I have a second dinner later. If using a Demarle tray you can pop out the lasagnas once frozen and place in a ziploc bag, if using a metal tin, I would suggest leaving it in the freezer. I hope you have two muffin tins!

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes or until browned. If baking from frozen you will need to add at least 5 more minutes.

Image

Feel free to go nuts with this recipe, this is just a starting point for whatever you can come up with. My friend and fellow blogger, Lula Harp, used egg plant instead of gyoza wrappers with equally delicious results. I’m actually looking forward to the summer zucchini season. I try to keep my eye on those pesky zucchini, but some always escape me and grow too big. I’m going to slice some of those oversize squash thinly and use them as noodles. Anyway I can sneak some vegetables into my kids diet is a win in my book! I hope you enjoy the recipe!

Muffin Tin Lasagna

  • 1 package gyoza or wonton wrappers
  • 1 16 oz container ricotta cheese
  • 1 cup pasta sauce
  • 1 cup (or more if you like) grated mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese (for top)
  • 1 lb cooked sausage
  • 1 cup cooked spinach
  • salt and pepper to taste

Layer wrapper, sauce, ricotta, meat/spinach then mozzarella in your muffin pan. Repeat, topping with parmesan. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes. You will have enough ingredients to make two trays. Freeze for later or bake both for a crowd. These reheat nicely!

Who La La

Leave a Reply

