Pie pops!

What another pie post? I know what you’re thinking, this lady is obsessed with pie. I do love pie, but I’m really just trying to use up all the strawberries I have taking up valuable fridge space! Since I had a few leftover after the jam  and the strawberry rhubarb pie. I thought I would whip up another batch and make some pies in jars to freeze. Nothing is more lovely than pulling a summer pie out of the freezer during those blustery fall days and baking it. Delicious smells and warm pie to cheer you up. I should have perhaps looked at my supplies before I started on this project, after I had already made my dough, I realized I only had 4 straight sided half pint canning jars with lids. Whoops, what to do with the extra filling and dough? How about pie pops? Have you seen them around?

As of late, there has been a large surge with anything associated with a pop. Cake pops, gourmet popsicles, marshmallow pops and now, pie pops. I think anything that comes on a stick is automatically infused with whimsy and charm, perhaps that is their allure. Don’t forget the portability and kid appeal, a huge plus to any mom or “big” kid on the go.

The finished “pretty” pic.

They’re so easy to make and only need a few modifications from a standard pie. One double crust pie with filling should make about 50 pie pops. In my case, it made 4 pies in jars, 2 crisps and 7 pie pops. I realized I only had 7 lollipop sticks, again to my point of checking your supplies before you begin a project!

Pies in jars, can either go straight in the oven or into the freezer!

For pie pops, you just need lollipop sticks and a 2 5/8″ dough cutter (I used my Demarle dough cutters) or like size. I like a fluted edge, but a round or even a heart would be so cute! I used the pate brisee dough from Martha Stewart, linked in my last post. An all butter crust has a little bit more workability and will hold together a little better when you bite into it. For a filling, anything will do, but I suggest you cut your ingredients a little smaller that you normally would. When you’re putting in only a tablespoon of filling, a half inch chunk of rhubarb can take up a lot of space! Just roll out your dough, cut out your circle and lay on your Silpat or a cookie sheet with parchment. Brush an egg wash on the circle then place a lollipop stick 1/2″ from the upper edge. Spoon a tablespoon of filling in the center of your circle and place your crust on top. I used a fork to press around the edge of each pop, cut about of vents, brushed with egg wash and baked at 375 degrees F for 15 to 20 minutes.  Ta dah, instant yummy on stick!

All baked and ready to eat!

I think the twins liked them!

4 thoughts on “Pie pops!

Leave a Reply

