Cute kid lunches!

If you have toddlers or had, you probably know how once they hit 2 1/2 they learn the word no and seem to use it profusely, especially when it comes to food. My now three year old twins always ask what we’re eating, then after I respond they follow up with a, “I don’t like (insert what’s for dinner).” So irritating. We never have a problem with breakfast, lunch is usually a fight and dinner, well,  I’m working on it.

Maybe you’ve seen some of the adorable kid food ideas out there or the amazing bento boxes some people make. Using these ideas, I needed to make these adaptable for what my kids like to eat, which is mostly peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Really, all you need to make food a little bit more exciting is cookie cutters. A fun shape goes a long way with kids! I discovered that I have a lot of cookie cutters, it’s kind of a problem, they aren’t the easiest things to store! Mine are stuffed in a drawer with some baking items and then the overflow is in a huge hat box. I may need to trim these down a little bit, but since they are helping my kids clean their plates every day, perhaps I will keep them around a little bit longer.

As you can see, I have a few cookie cutters.

So here are a few of my kids lunches, If you have any ideas, please leave a comment! I’m always on the quest for new material for the girls!

Bears and fruit in a silicon cupcake cup.

Owlies.

Ladybugs with fruit flowers.

The very hungry caterpillar, our favorite!

Fish with a string cheese octopus.

The only way to eat snails!

This one was inspired by my seasonal allergies.

Ernie with a mango rubber ducky.

Carrots and rabbits.

Roar! Lions in the grass, I found these grass cupcake wraps at Cost Plus and trimmed them.

I was hoping I could get the sun to come back out!

An apple with a string cheese worm. Black sesame seeds make great eyes!

All of these were from the last few weeks, so you’ll have to wait a while before I can come up with another cache. Hopefully these will keep you fueled for awhile. Finally one last picture, with all this cute food for the kids, enter the reality for us moms.

This is my lunch.

2 thoughts on “Cute kid lunches!

Leave a Reply

