Galettes with goat cheese, asparagus and caramelized onions

A few weeks ago my mother in law dropped by to watch my girls so I could escape get out for a bit. Whenever she comes over she always brings little treats and toys for the girls as well as my husband and I. I don’t think she can help herself and goodness knows we appreciate the little attentions. On that visit she brought a long a little galette she picked up at New Seasons, which I enjoyed immensely the following morning for breakfast. It was really so simple, caramelized onions, goat cheese and asparagus wrapped lovingly in some pastry dough. I thought for sure I could replicate it, the hardest part would be caramelizing the onions. Here’s what I did;

Caramelized Onions

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 2 T unsalted butter
  • 3 yellow onions, peeled and sliced into half rounds
  • 1 sprig of fresh thyme
  • 2 T balsamic vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste

Heat the oil and butter in a heavy bottomed pot, add in the onions and thyme. Stir to evenly coat and cook over medium-low heat stirring occasionally. Here is where you have to be patient. You want the onions to cook slowly, if they brown to quickly you won’t get a good caramel on them. You want to be sure to stir them, but don’t hover over them. I made that mistake and what should take perhaps 30 minutes ended up closer to 50 because I was stirring too often and they didn’t stay still long enough to brown. After they reach a light caramel color, add your salt and pepper as well as your vinegar. The vinegar will de-glaze the pan and give the onions a deep caramel color. Store in your fridge for up to a week.  Here is a photo progression of my onions.

Fresh in the pan.

10 minutes.

20 minutes.

30 minutes

40 minutes. Now I’m ready to add my salt, pepper and vinegar.

All done and ready to eat! Yummy!

To make the galettes, I branched out from my usual pate brisee recipe and tried one with cornmeal from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook. This recipe makes two 9″ single pie crusts. Enough for around 8-10 galettes.

Cornmeal Pate Brisee

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 t sugar
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, cold and cut into small pieces
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup water

Place flour, cornmeal, salt and sugar in food processor. Pulse to combine. Add butter and pulse to a coarse meal, only a few seconds will do. With machine running add water in a slow, steady stream. I find a 1/4 cup is enough. You want it to just hold together. Turn dough out, split into two and flatten each into a disk. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill at least one hour. I like to make mine the day before. You can freeze this recipe as well.

To fill, roll out dough and cut out circles. I use a 3 and 7/8″ cutter, but a small saucer will work too. Fill each circle with 2-3 tablespoons of onions, 1-2 ounces goat cheese and some pieces of asparagus. Fold dough around filling and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes or until browned. My first batch was a little pale, so I kept an eye on the second batch a little closer. I ended up rolling out one  half batch of dough and saved the rest for the next day. Each will make 4-5.

Using my Roul’Pat, less flour makes a more tender crust!

With filling, I skip the onions when I make this for my kids.

Gently fold dough around filling, leaving a small amount showing in the middle.

Bake on your Silpat for a crispy, flaky crust.

Yummy! I want to make another batch! What is great about these is you can make them with whatever is on hand. During the summer months when we have so many fresh ingredients available this is the time to experiment. Try tomatoes with basil and fresh mozzarella or perhaps a sweet recipe with fresh stone fruit and berries! Sweet and savory both work beautifully in the cornmeal crust! Enjoy and let me know what your favorite combination was!

 

 

Leave a Reply

