Weekly Pinterest Success (yes, that’s singular)

It was a busy, hot week around here. I know that the rest of the country has been burning up, so our little heat spell is really nothing compared to the triple digits other people have been seeing. I will just say that high heat in the Pacific Northwest is great for a little while, but we tend to wilt a bit. Yes, we’re big wieners.

Since the week has been warm, it has limited my baking to almost zero and my craft room gets all the afternoon heat, so not too much on the Pinterest project front. I did have time for one fabulous recipe I discovered on Pinterest, a delicious honey lime enchilada recipe that I’ve been playing with.

My huge batch of enchiladas!

I have been following the recipe, except I have been playing around with what type of cooked chicken I’ve been putting in it. I made a huge amount of enchiladas on Thursday so I could try my two favorite fillings, rotisserie chicken and leftover grilled Margarita chicken (a great Weight Watchers recipe). I brought both types to girls night, hoping the ladies could give me a definitive answer on which filling was better. The votes came in at a tie, both were well liked. The grilled chicken was thighs only, so it was a little more moist. Also I marinated the meat overnight before I grilled it so it tasted like tequila and lime, amongst other things. It cuts the sweetness of the honey in the enchilada recipe. The rotisserie chicken soaks up more of the sauce and takes on a sweeter taste, but tends to be a tad drier because of the mixture of light and dark meat. Either way they tasted fantastic, but I must say I prefer the grilled margarita chicken. The zing of the lime and tequila, mixed with the smokiness of the grill. Plus, I just make extra chicken and get a big head start on dinner for the next two days! Yummy. I fully suggest following the link to the enchilada recipe, this is the second time I’ve made it and it always has rave reviews. Below is the recipe for my grilled chicken, my preferred filling.

Grilled Margarita Chicken.

Grilled Margarita Chicken from Weight Watchers (this is the single recipe, I suggest doubling or tripling.)

  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 3 T tequila
  • 1/2 jalapeno, seeded and minced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 t grated lime zest
  • 2 T fresh lime juice
  • 1 T canola oil
  • 1 t chili powder
  • 4 skinless boneless chicken thighs
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 t fresh ground pepper

Combine all ingredients, minus the salt and pepper into a large ziploc bag. Add chicken, squeeze out air and seal. Turn to coat chicken. Refrigerate, turning bag occasionally, at least 8 hours, I prefer overnight.

Spray grill rack with nonstick spray; preheat the grill to medium or prepare a medium fire.

Remove chicken from marinade, shaking off excess marinade. Discard the marinade. Sprinkle chicken with salt and pepper; place on the grill rack. Grill until cooked, 6-7 minutes on each side.

Serving size: one thigh, 5 points (old and new)

I hope you give this recipe a try and hopefully with the cool, rainy day we say today, maybe I can get something done!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Pinterest Success (yes, that’s singular)

Leave a Reply

